Info

His and Hers Movie Reviews

Richee and Layla are the harsh but fair critics reviewing the latest releases and favourite classics.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
His and Hers Movie Reviews
2018
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2014
December
November
October
September


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: October, 2015
Oct 31, 2015

For our final Trick or Treat for this October, we give Layla her Virgin Viewing of the Wes Craven 1996 whodunnit, Scream. Since its release, this meta comedy-horror has got huge cult following, and we have a look at what makes this film so popular. Starring Neve Campbell, Drew Barrymore, Matthew Lillard and Skeet Ulrich, we celebrate Halloween with this classic slasher.

subscribe to us on itunes

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

twitter: @richeeandlayla

facebook: his and hers views and reviews

 

Oct 27, 2015

James Bond is back in his latest Sam Mendes directed flick Spectre. Daniel Craig stars as 007, up against a shadowy organisation, headed by Christoph Waltz, as well as the threat of losing his licence to kill by Andrew Scott's C. With a wealth of acting talent, including Ben Wishaw, Monica Belluci, Lea Seydoux, Ralph Fiennes and Dave Bautista, we discuss the film (with SPOILERS) and talk its similarities with Captain America: Winter Soldier and Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation.

Subscribe to us on itunes

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

twitter: @richeeandlayla

facebook: his and hers views and reviews

Oct 24, 2015

Carrying on with our Trick or Treat specials this Halloween season, we review a zombie film with a difference. Elijah Wood and Rainn Wilson star in Jonathan Milott and Cary Murnion's Cooties, where cafeteria food infects pre-pubesant kids, and they take over the school as the undead. But how successful can a zombie film be when the goriest part is when they show you how chicken nuggets are made? Listen to our review to find out more.

Subscribe to us on itunes

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

twitter: @richeeandlayla

facebook: his and hers views and reviews

Oct 20, 2015

Guillermo del Toro is back, just in time Halloween, with his gothic romance Crimson Peak. Starring Mia Wasikowska, Tom Hiddleston and Jessica Chastain, we have a luxurious production design, that references everything from 1961's The Innocents, 1945's The Picture of Dorian Gray, as well as Bram Stoker's Dracula, but with all the love and care gone into the sets, how much is left for the plot? Listen to our review to find out.

subscribe to us at itunes

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

twitter: @richeeandlayla

facebook: his and hers views and reviews

Oct 17, 2015

Is Troll 2 really the Best Worst Movie ever? Maybe so. We take a look at this cult classic from 1990, directed by Claudio Fragasso, and look at what makes this film so bad, and yet so good, as well as the John Carl Buechler 1986 horror-fantasy Troll, which Troll 2 piggy backed on the back of.

subscribe to us on itunes

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

twitter: @richeeandlayla

facebook: his and hers movie reviews

Oct 13, 2015

Denis Villeneuve's Sicario follows idealistic FBI agent Kate, played by Emily Blunt, whose investigation into the head of a Mexican drug cartel leads her to violent and often illegal practices as she joins forces with a government official (Josh Brolin) and the mysterious Alejandro (Benicio del Toro) to track the leaders of the cartel down. With excellent cinematography and a tense soundtrack, how does the rest of this crime thriller fair?

subscribe to us on itunes

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

twitter: @richeeandlayla

facebook: his and hers views and reviews

 

Oct 10, 2015

First you had George A. Romero's 1968 cult classic, then you had Tom Savini's 1990 remake, and now we've got Jeff Broadstreet's 2006 3D version of Night of the Living Dead. Awesome, right? Unfortunately you'd be sadly mistaken, as this re-telling has none of the wit, imagination and social conscious of the previous two version. We dissect this hot mess and wonder if this film could be one of the most insulting we've ever reviewed.

Subscribe to us on itunes

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

twitter: @richeeandlayla

facebook: his and hers views and reviews

Oct 6, 2015

Ridley Scott takes us back into space with an adaptation of Andy Weir's The Martian. Matt Damon gets lost yet again, but this time he is left for dead on Mars after a large sandstorm. He has to use wit and ingenuity to survive, even if that does mean using his own feces to grow potatoes. An awesome premise for a survival film, but just how well is it told? And whats with all the name titles? Also staring Michael Pena, Jessica Chastain, Jeff Daniels and Donald Glover, listen to our review to find out more.

Subscribe to us on itunes

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

twitter: @richeeandlayla

facebook: his and hers movie reviews

Oct 4, 2015

For Halloween this year, we are trick or treating you with podcasts and posts up on the blog all to do with horror. We are starting off with what would be many kids first forays into horror themes, and that is Barry Sonnenfeld's The Addams Family. With an excellent cast and jokes that still hold up today, we revisit this 1991 classic and discuss its influence. Cara mia!

Subscribe to us on itunes.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

twitter: @richeeandlayla

facebook: his and hers movie reviews.

1