Info

His and Hers Movie Reviews

Richee and Layla are the harsh but fair critics reviewing the latest releases and favourite classics.
RSS Feed
His and Hers Movie Reviews
2018
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2014
December
November
October
September


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: Page 1
Tau 0
Jul 10, 2018

The directorial debut of Marvel storyboard artist Federico D'Alessandro, Netflix exclusive Tau takes looks into the life of an AI who makes friends with a human and acts out against it's creator. While trying to go down a horror path, Tau fits much more comfortably within it's sci-fi leanings, and borrows liberally from a smorgasbord of influences, including 2001: A Space Odyssey, The Amityville Horror, and even a hint of Batteries Not Included. Starring Maika Monroe, Ed Skrein and Gary Oldman.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

TAG 0
Jul 3, 2018

Based on the true story of a bunch of friends who played a continuous game of tag well into adulthood, Jeff Tomsic's TAG sees this story come to the big screen with slo-mo action scenes and some surprising moments of darkness. Starring Jeremy Renner, Ed Helms, Josh Hamm, Hannibal Buress and Jake Johnson as adult friends going to extremes to tag each other, and reigniting their friendship with each slap.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Jun 26, 2018

Layla is treated to her Virgin Viewings of Wes Craven's 1977 classic The Hills Have Eyes in this episode. Looking at this iconic and influential horror, we discuss the various tropes and themes it brings up, including nature vs nurture, Americana folk horror, and the "monstrous ugly" trope. Starring Micheal Berryman, Susan Lanier and Janus Blythe.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Jun 19, 2018

Ari Aster's debut feature length film Hereditary may be pulling in all the comparisons, from The Babadook and The Witch to even The Exorcist, but how does it really fare on its own merit? Starring Toni Colette as a mother grieving the death of her own mother, we see ghostly apparitions and disturbing utterances haunt her and her family, until an awful tragedy rips the families secrets wide open. Co-starring Alex Wolff, Milly Shapiro, Gabriel Byrne and Ann Dowd, Hereditary is a masterclass of tension, but what about that notorious ending (no spoilers).

You can download this episode directly here.

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Find our review of The Babadook here, and our review of The Witch here.

Jun 12, 2018

Spoilers kick in at 14:28

What's more exciting then an exploding volcano? A black market auction, right? And what could possibly top the Indominus Rex from the first film? A goddamn Indoraptor, right? Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom comes back bigger and dumber with Bryce Dallas Howard and Chris Pratt trying the dinosaurs from the environment and dastardly bad guys. Also starring Jeff Goldblum, Ted Levine and Rafe Spall, we ponder all the rather convenient moments the film conjures up, plus we wonder what possible sequels Fallen Kingdom could bring up. (Gothic Dracula dino's, anyone?)

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

 

 

 

Jun 5, 2018

Spoilers from the onset. If you need to talk to someone about issues raised in this show, find information on who to contact here. 

The controversial second season of Netflix's 13 Reasons Why does not hold back from the issues it raised in the first season, but without the book to structure it, and the series support itself? With the trial over Hannah's suicide starting in court, Clay and his friends have to try and find some crucial evidence and persuade key witnesses to testify to save Hannah's name. With all the strong images from the first season back again, and with some extra, can the show justify itself, and does it still have something to say? Starring Dylan Minette, Katherine Langford, Alisha Boe, Kate Walsh and Derek Luke.

Listen to our review of the first season here.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

 

May 29, 2018

Did you ever wonder how Han Solo got the Millennium Falcon? His blaster? Those dice that are somehow a big deal? Well, look no further, as Ron Howard's origin story to Star Wars most infamous rogue, Solo: A Star Wars Story, gives us all the answers. Alden Ehrenreich stars as the young Han, keen to get back to his lost love Qi'ra (Emilia Clarke), as well as prove himself to a bunch of high-stakes thieves (Woody Harrelson, Thandie Newton, and Jon Favreau). Of course, he also meets up with bff forever Chewbacca (Joonas Suotamo), as well as the infamous Lando Clarissian (Donald Glover). However, with its troubled production and lackluster box-office, is Solo really the big hit that it wants to be? Richee and Layla discuss it out in this podcast review.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

May 22, 2018

This is a spoiler-free and spoiler-full podcast review. Spoilers come in at the 15 minute mark.

Following on from the huge and surprising success of 2016's first Deadpool film, David Leitch's sequel, with the inspired name of Deadpool 2, gives the audience back what they loved from the first film. Ryan Reynold's is back as Wade Wilson, and when a tragedy strikes him personally, he is called to help a young mutant (Julian Dennison) and start up the X-Force to defeat cyborg-from-the-future Cable (Josh Brolin). Also starring Zazie Beetz, Morena Baccarin, and some unsuspecting cameo's, Deadpool 2 gives the audience what it wants, but is it enough? 

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

May 15, 2018

Coming out in 1995, The Usual Suspects was a hit, winning Academy Awards for its screenplay and for Kevin Spacey in its supporting role, but has it really withstood the test of time? Directed by Bryan Singer, and with a script by Christopher McQuarrie, we are left to wonder who the hell Keyser Soze is and what's he doing influencing the lives of five unlikely criminals. Co-starring Stephen Baldwin, Benicio del Toro, Gabriel Byrne and Kevin Pollak, The Usual Suspects has sustained its reputation over the years, but does it really deserve the love it gets? And just how effective is its notorious twist?

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

May 8, 2018

Contains minor spoilers.

Following on from the success of Train to Busan, Yeon Sang-ho directs South Korea's first superhero movie, Psychokinesis. Ryu Seung-ryong stars as Shin, a middle-aged security guard who gains psychokinetic powers after drinking from a comet-tainted spring, who then decides he's going to help his once abandoned daughter Roo-mi (Shim Eun-kyun) stand up against the big business developers who destroyed her fried chicken shop. While the film does delve into whimsy and sentimentality, there is some genuine authoritarian horror, but does it reach the heights of Train to Busan? Also starring Park Jung-min and Jung Yu-mi.

Listen to our review of Train to Busan here.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

May 1, 2018

Non-spoiler review up until 13:56, then its full-on spoiler territory.

The build up for Avengers: Infinity War has been almost a decade in the making, and now the Marvel heroes come up against their biggest enemy. Directed by The Russo Brothers,  Josh Brolin plays Thanos, a villain seeking to bring balance back to the universe with his massive gauntlet and the six Infinity Stones. The only problem is it requires the death of half the living beings in all the universe. Infinity War brings together nearly all the characters from Avengers, Guardians of the Galaxy and the other solo franchises to their biggest battle yet, but can they succeed? We discuss what works with the film, our personal gripes, and what we hope to see for the franchise in the future. Plus, what does Thanos have in common with David Attenborough and Friedrich Nietzsche? Listen on to find out.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Apr 24, 2018

This week we delve into a Virgin Viewings, where one of us gives the other a favourite film to watch, and this time it is Richee's turn to watch Michael Powell's infamous 1960 psychological thriller, Peeping Tom. After creating such classics as The Red Shoes and Black Narcissus with Emeric Pressburger, Powell nearly destroyed his career with this film, which scored disastrous reviews. However, Peeping Tom has gone on to become a cult classic, becoming a precursor to the contemporary slasher film. Starring Carl Boehm as a film maker obsessed with capturing the last look of fear on his victims faces. Also starring Anna Massey and Moira Shearer, has Layla succeeded in showing Richee a Virgin Viewings he'll actually enjoy? Listen on to find out. 

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Apr 17, 2018

Giant monsters! Destruction! Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson! Everything you could want from a modern disaster movie, right? Directed by Brad Peyton, and based on the video game, Rampage is a simple story about a bunch of big animals that go berserk and the one sensitive but strangely indestructible man that can bring them down. Co-starring Naomie Harris, Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Joe Manganiello, we look at what this film does right and wrong, and why it could of done with camping it's self up a bit.

We also refer to Pacific Rim Uprising in this podcast, and you can listen to our review of that film here.

You can download this episode directly here.

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Apr 10, 2018

Based on the stage play by Andy Nyman and Jeremy Dyson, Ghost Stories, also directed by Nyman and Dyson, follows a twisting narrative that contemplates the very nature of ghosts. Paranormal skeptic Professor Goodman (Nyman) is sent to solve three increasingly bizarre haunting's that send his own beliefs into doubt. Co-starring Martin Freeman, Paul Whitehouse and Alex Lawther, Ghost Stories delivers a mediation on why we choose to believe in ghosts, and the dangers of not acknowledging the ghosts in our past.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

You can read the Leigh Spence article we talk about at the end of the podcast here.

Apr 7, 2018

One of our favourite TV shows of last year is now back with it's second season, so we check in with Netflix's Santa Clarita Diet to see how the Hammond's are dealing with life after wife and mother Sheila is turned into a zombie. With all the problems that murdering and eating people has, can it really top the suburban nightmare of keeping up with the neighbours, being a good parent and staying sane in front of your boss? Plus, with the first season being so successful, does the second season keep up the laughs and gore? Staring Drew Barrymore, Timothy Olyphant, Liv Hewson, Skyler Gisondo and Mary Elizabeth Ellis.

You can listen to our review of the first season here.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

Apr 3, 2018

We review Ready Player One (with minor spoilers) first. Skip forward to 25:44 for our Isle of Dogs review.

We review two big hitters in the cinema this week. First up is the Steven Spielberg directed adaptation of Ernest Cline's Ready Player One, where lonely orphan Wade (Tye Sheridan) fights against waves of references to gain control over all-encompassing VR world, the Oasis. We discuss what the film does right, the original book, and what kind of nostalgia the film is trying to go for. Second up we look at Wes Anderson's latest stop-motion animation Isle of Dogs, where lonely orphan Atari (Koyu Rankin) has to travel across Trash Island to find his long-exiled best friend. As per Anderson's films, there is plenty of admirable style, but is there much substance behind it?

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

Mar 27, 2018

We discuss spoilers in this review.

The sequel to Guillermo del Toro's popcorn classic, Pacific Rim Uprising delivers more jaegers, but not nearly as much fun. Directed by Steven S. McKnight, John Boyega stars as the estranged son of the hero of the last film, who teams up with scrappy scrapper Amara, played by Cailee Spaeny, to help save the world when kaiju's raise their violent heads again. With a tonne of retconning, ugly cinematography and dull awful dialogue, Pacific Rim Uprising provides a grim entry to this years blockbuster season. Also starring Charlie day, Rinko Kikuchi, Jing Tian and Scott Eastwood. 

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

Mar 20, 2018

We review Tomb Raider first in this podcast. Our Annihilation review starts at 18:43.

First up we review Roar Uthaug's adaptation of the reboot of the classic game. With Alicia Vikander taking on the iconic role, we look at how Tomb Raider updates this franchise, whether it breaks out of the tropes associated with adapting video games, and we wonder if Lara Croft has got any smarter. Secondly we review the "too smart for the cinema" Netflix exclusive Annihilation, directed by Alex Garland and based on the novel by James VanderMeer. Starring Natalie Portman as a wife whose long dead husband turns up alive, she has to delve in a mysterious alien "shimmer" to find out what happened to him. With beautiful and terrifying visuals, we look into the themes and layers of this dream-like thriller.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Mar 13, 2018

Directed by Nash Edgerton, Gringo sees David Oyelowo play a naive business man whose life falls apart on a work trip to Mexico, and who decides that the best way to start a new life is to fake is own kidnapping. Mix in that a drug cartel and a young couple who are drug mules, then you have a film that... well, we've all kind of seen before. Co-starring Charlize Theron, Joel Edgerton, and Sharlto Copley, Gringo is a watchable comedy that's light on the laughs, but how much can you truly enjoy a movie that preaches the upside of being an arsehole?

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

Mar 6, 2018

Based on the 1972 manga by Go Nagai, Netflix delivers us a truly mesmerising original anime series. Directed by Masaaki Yuasa, Devilman Crybaby focuses on the meek little Akira Fudo who is transformed into a devil after his long lost friend Ryo turns up. While he can control the demon Amon, as Akira is a kind hearted sole, he cannot control what the other demons do nor how the rest of the world reacts to the news. With some wonderful animation choices, Devilman Crybaby watches like a Nicolas Winding Refn film with a lot more emotion, and the finale is truly something special and satisfying. 

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Feb 27, 2018

Directed by Duncan Jones, Netflix exclusive Mute has garnered a lot of negative responses since its release on the weekend. Staring Alexander Skarsgård as Leo, an Amish mute in a futuristic Berlin, he has to traverse the underground world of AWOL US military surgeons to find out what happened to his missing girlfriend Naadirah (Seyneb Saleh). Co-starring Paul Rudd and Justin Theroux, Mute has some troubling aspects to it, including a paedophile side character, but is it as bad as everyone says? Listen on to find out.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Special thanks to Leigh for composing the end music played in the middle of this podcast. Check out their posts for this blog here and their own blog Dancing with the Gatekeepers.

Feb 20, 2018

We review Black Panther first in this review, and our The Shape of Water review starts at 21:11.

 

What luck did we have with two of our most anticipated films of the year being released in the same week. First up we review Marvel's Black Panther, directed by Ryan Coogler, which sees T'Challa become king of the advanced but secretive nation of Wakanda, whose privacy is threatened by old and new enemies alike. Starring Chadwick Boseman, Michael B. Jordan, Lupita Nyong'o and Danai Gurira. Secondly we review Guillermo del Toro's The Shape of Water, a love story story between a mute woman and an amphibious man whose romance is caught up in secretive and violent government plots. Stars Sally Hawkins, Doug Jones, Octavia Spencer and Michael Shannon.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

Special thanks to Leigh for composing the interlude music played in the middle of this podcast. Check out their posts for this blog here and their own blog Dancing with the Gatekeepers

 

 

Feb 13, 2018

Based on the book by Richard Morgan, Netflix's Altered Carbon sees cyber-punk mix with film noir in a transhumanist world. Advanced technology means that humans can now download their memories onto disks called "stacks" that implanted in your neck, meaning that your physical body, or your "sleeve", can be easily replaced or cloned. Takeshi Kovacs (Joel Kinnaman) is released from prison after 250 years with a brand new sleeve under the condition that he finds out who tried to kill god-like super-rich Laurens Bancroft (James Purefoy). With its interesting ideas and high production value, Altered Carbon certainly looks the part, but how well does its convoluted story hold up over its ten episodes? Also starring Will Yun Lee, Martha Higareda and Chris Conner. 

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

 

 

Feb 6, 2018

With its surprise release on Sunday night, The Cloverfield Paradox carries on with the franchises unique take on advertising, this time arriving with aplomb onto Netflix. Directed by Julius Onah, we are treated to another genre take on the mcguffin that is Cloverfield's own Lovecraftian monster, this time featuring a crew of astronauts who want to start up a particle accelerator in space to solve the worlds energy crisis, but end up ripping a hole in space-time. Radically different from the franchises previous films, how different is Paradox to other movies though? And was it a good move to release it straight to Netflix? Starring Gugu Mbatha-Raw, David Oyelowo, Daniel Brühl and Chris O'Dowd.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

Jan 30, 2018

Based on the graphic novel from 1989, and directed by Sam Liu, Batman: Gotham by Gaslight sees the Dark Knight fight off against the mysterious killer Jack the Ripper as part of DC's Elseworld series. With a bunch of familiar characters playing unfamiliar parts, Gotham by Gaslight mixes Victoriana references into a semi-steampunk world and puts Bruce Wayne's detective skills to the test, but how can he seriously expect to succeed against the notoriously anonymous Ripper? And how many heavy handed references can you force into 78 minutes. Starring Bruce Greenwood, Jennifer Carpenter and Anthony Head.

www.hisandhersmoviereviews.co.uk

Make sure you subscribe to us on itunes here and leave us a review, as well as following us on twitter and facebook.

 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next » 10